Toggle sidebar

Autism Information and Advice Service: Training Schedule

Introduction

Welcome to the list of available training from the Autism Information and Advice Service.

All of these sessions are accessible through Microsoft Teams

To book please contact us on 01709 336404 or email: autismadvice@rotherham.gov.uk

Understanding Autism

Gives a basic understanding of current thinking around autism and to reflect on differences in autistic social communication and interaction, behaviour, and sensory processing. Parents and carers booking on to this session are encouraged to also book on to the Considering Behaviours training.

March 2022

  • Thursday 24 March 2022 - 10am to 12pm

April 2022

  • Thursday 28 April 2022 - 10am to 12pm

June 2022

  • Wednesday 29 June 2022 - 10am to 12pm

November 2022

  • Wednesday 30 November 2022 - 10am to 12pm

Sensory Workshop

To gain an understanding of sensory modulation and how this affects your child and to learn about typical sensory presentations.

The training is run over 2 weekly sessions.

March 2022

  • Sensory Workshop Theory - Monday 28 March 2022 - 6pm to 8:30pm

April 2022

  • Sensory Workshop Strategies - Monday 4 April 2022 - 6pm to 8:30pm

July 2022

  • Sensory Workshop Theory - Wednesday 13 July 2022 - 10:30am to 1pm
  • Sensory Workshop Strategies - Wednesday 20 July 2022 - 10:30am to 1pm

November 2022

  • Sensory Workshop Theory - Monday 7 November 2022 - 6pm to 8:30pm
  • Sensory Workshop Strategies - Monday 14 November 2022 - 6pm to 8:30pm

Considering Behaviours

Learn how autism influences and shapes our children’s thinking and behaviour, how to unpick behaviours and reactions and how to use the iceberg and STAR model to analyse behaviour and shape change.

It is recommended that parents/carers attend the Understanding Autism session first unless they have a good understanding of current thinking around autism.

March 2022

  • Considering Behaviours - Thursday 31 March 2022 - 10am to 12pm

May 2022

  • Considering Behaviours - Thursday 5 May 2022 - 10am to 12pm

July 2022

  • Considering Behaviours - Wednesday 6 July 2022 - 10am to 12pm

December 2022

  • Considering Behaviours - Wednesday 7 December 2022 - 10am to 12pm

Teen Life

Teen Life is course for parents and carers of autistic young people aged 10 to 16. It aims to help them to understand more about autistic teenagers, discussing strategies and sharing ideas about how to communicate with and support autistic young people.

The training runs over six weekly sessions.

June 2022

Group 1

  • Session 1 - Wednesday 8 June 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm
  • Session 2 - Wednesday 15 June 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm
  • Session 3 - Wednesday 22 June 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm
  • Session 4 - Wednesday 29 June 2022 - 6pm to 8pm

Group 2

  • Session 1 - Thursday 9 June 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm
  • Session 2 - Thursday 16 June 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm
  • Session 3 - Thursday 23 June 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm
  • Session 4 - Thursday 30 June 2022 - 6pm to 8pm

July 2022

Group 1

  • Session 5 - Wednesday 6 July 2022 - 6pm to 8pm
  • Session 6 - Wednesday 13 July 2022 - 6pm to 8pm

Group 2

  • Session 5 - Thursday 7 July 2022 - 10am to 12pm
  • Session 6 - Thursday 14 July 2022 - 6pm to 7:30pm

September 2022

Group 1

  • Session 1 - Wednesday 14 September 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 2 - Wednesday 21 September 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 3 - Wednesday 28 September 2022 - 10am to 11:30am

Group 2

  • Session 1 - Thursday 15 September 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 2 - Thursday 22 September 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 3 - Thursday 29 September 2022 - 10am to 11:30am

October 2022

Group 1

  • Session 4 - Wednesday 5 October 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 5 - Wednesday 12 October 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 6 - Wednesday 19 October 2022 - 10am to 11:30am

Group 2

  • Session 4 - Thursday 6 October 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 5 - Thursday 13 October 2022 - 10am to 11:30am
  • Session 6 - Thursday 20 October 2022 - 10am to 11:30am